Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oreon should switch to English as its primary language

Hi,

I'm just going to be blunt about this. I'm new to Oreon. I work for an internet hosting provider that manages a fairly large number of servers. Currently, we use Nagios for monitoring all of them. This works quite well. However, we miss having extensive easy-to-configure graphing and reporting features. Apparently, these features are offered by the Oreon project. Therefore, i did an installation of Oreon for testing purposes. Now, after playing around with Oreon for a while, I am starting to get more and more annoyed with the fact that the project apparently has decided that French is to be used as the primary language. Moreover, this may very well be the reaon for us to _not_ use Oreon after all.

Now, I'm a clever guy and I work with clever people, but my understanding of the French language just isn't what it used to be since I left highschool more than a decade ago...
    For an "Open Source Solution Based on Nagios" that offers a "Revisited Experience Of Nagios" and "has a constantly growing communauty" (sic) which "has an outstanding involvement", I really think not having English as the primary language is a no-go. Some examples:

- The documentation that is referenced from the English version of the Oreon website is in French.
    - The website itself seems to switch to the French language randomly.
    - The French part of the forum has thousands of topics and views, whereas the english part has only a few hundred.

I could go on with this list of peeves, but I think you probably catch my drift by now.

All in all, I think this whole sticking to the French language is a big waste of resources and a huge missed opportunity for the Oreon project as a whole. I can only imagine how many potential Oreon users have been put off by the language barrier already.